Brissot’s Boschian Bricolages

The second exhibition we saw in the same Zwarte Panter gallery (it was, in fact, the first one, time-wise) was a collection of art-works by French artist Jacques Brissot. I had a vague feeling that I wrote about one of his works already (a remake of the famous Bruegel’s Mad Meg aka Dull Grett) but I can’t track that posting back; may be I just wanted to write it, but never managed to.

Anyway. Brissot is specialized in what some people call the ultimate peak form of post-modern art, while others, a bad-taste garbage and kitsch. As always, I am above the fight, or rather I am integrating both these positions, easily).  To be more factual, Brissot makes remakes of the famous old paintings, refilling them with modern figures, and thus, meanings.

The very location of the exhibition was quite symbolic (and provocative) too; I understand that the gallery also got a building of some old church, or a chapel – apparently, very old one

But by now significantly reconstructed, of course:

Here the view of the bema (some works have been hanging there):

And this is the window with stained glass, on the opposite side:

Majority of the works were hanging on the walls; I recognized most famous – like this one, made after the Seven Deadly Sins by Bosch; but not all (I am pretty n00bish in medieval art).

I am going to write about the ‘mirrors’ in this work in my Art Mirrors Art blog, and here I’d like to simply post all the paintings I saw there, and managed to take picture of.  When I know the original artwork, I write the title, otherwise leave the picture unassigned ( do help please, if you recognize the image!)

After The Garden of Earthly Delights, by Hieronymus Bosch

After The Haywain Triptych, by Hieronymus Bosch

After The Cure of Folly, by Hieronymus Bosch

After Landscape with St. Jerome, by Joachim Patinir

After Rest During the Flight to Egypt, by Joachim Patinir

The rest is unassigned:

 

***

I guess it was not only an exhibition, but also a sales room, too, but I somehow forgot to ask about the prices. Would you buy such a work for your home? office? How much would you be ready to part with?

This entry was posted in Arts, of All Sorts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

